Back to members

Turgeon, Alexis

Location CHU de Québec – Université Laval (Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus) City Québec Contact

Turgeon, Alexis

Alexis Turgeon first graduated from Université Laval medical school in 1999 and, following residency training in Anesthesiology, he completed a master’s degree in Clinical Epidemiology. He pursued training in Critical Care Medicine at the University of Ottawa along with a research fellowship at the Clinical Epidemiology Unit of the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. He is a Full Professor and Director of Research in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Division of Critical Care Medicine, at Université Laval. He is a scientist of the Population Health and Optimal Health Practices Unit of the CHU de Québec – Université Laval Research Center. He practices Critical Care Medicine and Anesthesiology at the CHU de Québec – Université Laval (Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus) in Québec City.

He leads a successful research program, funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), on the determination of prognosis (TBI-Prognosis Study) and on the comprehension of level of care decisions in neurocritically ill patients (TBI-QualE study). He also has developed a comprehensive program of research on blood transfusion in traumatic brain injury, and on the use of blood products in critically ill patients. He leads the HEMOTION trial, a $1,139,105 CIHR-funded international multicenter randomized clinical trial that will determine the optimal blood cell transfusion threshold for victims of moderate to severe traumatic brain injury (co-PIs F Lauzier, D Fergusson). Alexis Turgeon has obtained a CIHR Foundation Scheme grant ($1,947,960) on Optimal Practices in Critical Care Neurology and Trauma, and funding from the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

Alexis Turgeon is the co-chair of the Canadian Traumatic brain injury Research Consortium, the Scientific Director of Cochrane Canada – Francophone and is an active member of the Canadian Critical Care Trials Group (CCCTG). He is the recipient of the Canada Research Chair in Critical Care Neurology and Trauma (link).